Simple Additions

Simple Additions: Saying Grace

Ayurveda is an incredibly foreign concept.

I come from the Midwest and my husband from the southwest. We come from traditional American backgrounds and our daily habits reflect this. Through a series of fortunate events I found myself studying the ancient cultures of India, Yoga and now have immersed myself into this wonderful world of Ayurveda, the health and wellness counterpart of Yoga. I say I am studying, but what I mean is that I am reading the books. The immersion and application part could not take place without the unconditional support of my wonderful husband, who from here on out I will call Daddy Yogi. He may not agree to such a name, but in my eyes, he is the perfect dharmic husband and therefore by association, he too is a yogi.

I am studying at the California College of Ayurveda, a school founded by Dr. Marc Halpern. The curriculum emphasizes creating healthy habits. It is only through direct perception, experiencing for yourself, that you can be in a position to guide others to create healthy life habits.

So Daddy Yogi and I talked, and we decided rather than jumping in head over heels and throwing away all of our canned goods, we would start implementing one change a week. (What I actually mean here, is that I was ready to throw out the cans, but Daddy Yogi reeled me in). We chose first to start by saying grace at dinner (yes, this is part of Ayurveda!). We have been working to create a more God centered life, and so this small change felt right.

The teachings say, it doesn’t matter so much how to say grace. It doesn’t matter if it is with three breaths, a moment of silence, a Christian prayer, a Hindu prayer, a Muslim prayer, what matters is you take the time to be grateful for the food that will become your body. Our family chose to use the traditional Catholic meal blessing.

“Bless us Oh Lord and these thy gifts which we are about to receive through thy bounty through Christ Our Lord, ”

We end with “Amen, Yay God”.

We want to create healthy habits for our Baby Yogini. She ends with a smile and maybe a clap – she is 11 months old. It is because of her that I truly had the motivation and courage to begin this transformation. I hope that one step at a time, she will learn by observing. And one step at time, I hope I will learn by teaching.

Please join me as I document this journey and as I drag my family (even if they’re kicking and screaming) to better health.

Next week, we add flowers. Who knew health and wellness could be so beautiful?!

Om,
Mommy Yogini

“Your beliefs become your thoughts,
Your thoughts become your words,
Your words become your actions,
Your actions become your habits,
Your habits become your values,
Your values become your destiny.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

9 thoughts on “Simple Additions: Saying Grace

  1. You are amazing! And I’d love to to join you on this powerful journey! Anytime, any place by anyone who can bring self-growth, calmness, peace, serenity, love, and overall sense of wellness to themselves and others, I wanna be there! Keep it up! Mommy Yogini!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading this and I’m grateful you chose to share what you learn during your journey to wellness with others. I, too believe change happens one step at a time. When that change becomes manageable it’s time for the next step. I look forward to reading your blog. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

